top of page

Healthy food

Arepita with plant-based "carne mechada"


vegan comfort food


Having my roots in the Caribbean it was obvious to me to bring that flavor right in the comfort of your kitchen.



In this blog, I’m sharing the recipe of this delicious comfort food called "Arepita" and topped it with a more of a flavor twist with plant-based “Carne Mechada” filling.



Arepita pronounced A-ri- pee-ta - is a corn-based food that can be found on every dinner table in any Venezuelan household. It’s a trendy dish for it being so inexpensive, tasteful and easy to make. You can combine your arepa with a great deal of filling. But today I am sharing with you the most remarkable filling “Carne Mechada” or the pulled "meat" but based on oats



To make the Arepita I use this corn flour called P.A.N and it looks like this:


It comes both white or yellow. I have noticed that the white one is easier to find in the grocery stores (in Europe) so I decided to use that one. P.A.N corn flour id also available in ethnic stores.


The recipe:


Enjoy!

0 comments

Comments


prolong living logo.png
bottom of page